Many brilliant lights or one burnt one: What’s your perspective?

Once again, the insights of author Paulo Coelho inspired my writing.

During one Christmas Eve dinner, he spent time complaining about something that was not perfect in his life. His thoughtful wife pointed out the beautifully illuminated Christmas tree nearby with one burnt bulb among the brilliantly shining ones.

“It seems to me that instead of thinking of this year as dozens of enlightened blessings, you chose to look at the one light that did not glow,” she said.

What is the ratio of enlightened blessings to burnt bulbs in your life? 

My eyesight is not good. Most days I don’t consider this a blessing, but at Christmas I do. When I take off my glasses, a Christmas tree looks star-filtered to me. The lights lose their sharp edges and take on a starlight glow. When I admire a Christmas tree in that soft focus I think about how lucky I am to see a Christmas tree in a way that my sharp-eyed friends can’t.

Best of all, when I look at a tree that way, I couldn’t possibly pick out any burnt bulbs.  

This month, whether you enjoy Hanukkah, Christmas, Kwanzaa, the solstice, or any other celebrations, may you bask in the glow of so many enlightened blessings that you don’t notice any dark spots.

Read Paulo Coelho’s post here: My wife and the burnt light

If there are burnt bulbs on this tree, I can't see them.

If there are burnt bulbs on this tree, I can’t see them.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on December 11, 2015, in Arlene Smith, Arlene Somerton Smith, good faith, Gratitude, Inspiration, life, Living life to the fullest, spirituality and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Hi Hon – As I plod into work these days, bracing myself for whatever new obstacles that will have to be overcome if I am to accomplish anything, I try to remember that I am blessed in so many ways. Thanks for the reminder.

    Your always admiring and loving husband – Don

  2. I curse my glasses when they fog up. But when I take them off I feel so lucky to have them and to see things so clearly. I then think what life would be without them and I then clean them, put them on and smile with happiness that I have glasses.

  1. Pingback: a peek inside the fishbowl » Blog Archive Weekend reading: December 12 edition - a peek inside the fishbowl

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

