Backwards Brains: Wait for the click

A few years ago I ordered my first pair of progressive lenses. Before progressives I wore contact lenses and used reading glasses for closer work.

I drove my family crazy the first week with those progressive lenses. “I don’t know about my new glasses,” I muttered, over and over. It seemed I had to move my head too much. It seemed the reading portion of the lenses was too narrow. I fretted and worried that I had wasted a lot of money on glasses that weren’t going to work for me.

And then one day, my brain clicked. My brain figured out how to work with those glasses, and it seemed to do it instantly. One minute everything felt all wrong, and the next I was saying, “These glasses are GREAT! No matter where I look, I can see!”

I remembered that experience when I watched this video. It’s a reminder to me that sometimes we have to keep working at something that feels wrong or difficult so that we can give our brains time to figure it out.

Then, click!

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on August 25, 2015, in Arlene Smith, Arlene Somerton Smith, How do you define success?, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest, nature, science and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. That was weird. Fascinating. Enlightening.

    I bought progressives on a break from teaching in Japan. Had to have them replaced on my next break.

    Every train station in Japan required either an upstairs or downstairs climb to catch a train. With the progressives I couldn’t see the stairs even after three months. Had to hold the railing for dear life.

    Figured I’d better replace them before I fell and killed myself. Guess I have an untrainable brain.

  2. No click? Oh well. I think it was a one-time incident, because you definitely have a creatively flexible brain.

  3. Thanks for posting the backwards bike video. My son was telling me about that bike just last night, then I read your post and voila, there it was! Wow, I would like to try the bike, I am sure I couldn’t ride it either, but I would like to try. Love your posts. David πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

Alex on Faith

Growing in faith together!

byluis7

Β« me arrodillo por las noches ante tigres que no me dejarΓ‘n ser. Β»

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es SΓ³lo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Moral Fibre

Musings of She who Knits in Churches

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.πŸ˜ŽπŸ“πŸπŸ‡πŸ‘πŸπŸ‰πŸˆπŸπŸŠπŸ‹πŸ…πŸŽπŸŒπŸ πŸ’πŸ₯

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling β€’ Writing β€’ Dreaming

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

