I’m not complaining: Rudy Francisco

I have a bit of a headache this morning—a rare event for me. But I’m not complaining.

My house is overdue for a good scrub, and I really don’t like cleaning. But I’m not complaining.

Yesterday I had to pick my son up early from his school alpine ski team practice. The timing of the pick-up put us in rush-hour traffic. We snailed from one end of the city of Ottawa to the other at the paint-drying-watching speed of 20 kilometers per hour. But I’m not complaining.

Rudy Francisco set me straight. His poetry slam performance gives all of us first-world, privileged, spoiled folks a timely tongue lashing. I won’t complain because my inconveniences are not even tragedies. I don’t even need the tip of my tongue to accommodate them.

He fired me up for my day. I hope he does the same for you. Few, if any, of us will crumble at the corner of tragedy and silence today.

 

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on January 16, 2015, in Arlene Smith, Arlene Somerton Smith, Art, good faith, Gratitude, How do you define success?, Inspiration, life, Living life to the fullest, Poetry and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 11 Comments.

  1. Powerful message, thanks Arlene.

  2. …oh so true! In my case, this year so far we have had friends struggle with marriages, another take a grand mal seisure, vehicles quit an hour from home, shingles blow off our roof while we are 1400 km away, our furnace die on the coldest night…and it is all ok.

    These events all give colour to the story of our lives and makes it real. Out of the challenges we build relationships…between friends, with our neighbours and even the nice man from the funace company who came bearing four electric heaters. And that is a good thing.

    Keep smiling. I am sure the time you spent in the car with your son was a gift of time that you don’t often get. Cheers! Anne

  3. Good one. There are challenges and hardships, and I don’t want to be unempathetic about that, and yet so often it’s as this passionate and wise young man reminds us (and you did as well, Arlene) – that so much ‘small stuff’ is just inconvenience, not tragedy (a bad hair day does not a Dark Night make!). Thanks so much for sharing it; I’ll be sharing it further (and RTing your tweet!). Blessings, Jamie

    • Thank You! I just went for a walk on a very cold – but sunny – winter day here. It was so much easier to walk feeling thankful for the sun than it would have been if I had been complaining about the cold. Sometimes it’s is a matter of saying, “It could have been worse.”

  4. Reblogged this on Sophia's Children and commented:
    Inconveniences aren’t tragedies (there’s a difference). A bad hair day does not a Dark Night make. Here’s a really evocative and passionate spoken-word challenge from Rudy Francisco, via Arlene Summerton Smith (Thanks Arlene!) on just this topic. Have a look and see what it stirs for you.
    Big Love,
    Jamie

  5. Thanks for the reminder. I have been complaining for two days about how sore my arm is. I had to get a tetanus shot and typhoid shot this week. No, not because I live a place where tetanus or typhoid are imminent threats but because I am going on a wonderful adventure. I went to a clean, fully stocked travel clinic to speak with a nurse whose speciality is preparing people who can spend thousands of dollars to fulfill their fantasies. Unlike a great many people I will be encountering I have protection against the ravages of bad water and bad food. I had better just shut up and when my arm hurts give thanks for the blessings of excellent medical care and the privilege of fulfilling a dream.

  6. Just having returned to the “first world” from a “developing country” I can attest to the fact that “our kind of problems” are a created fiction — born of the artificially stressful environment that we call “civilized living.” “They” don’t have “our” problems and the problems they do have do not set them complaining.
    I will say that, although I did not complain about not having unlimited hot running water, it sure felt great to climb into a bathtub full of such in my US hotel room last night and sink down into WARM for the first time in 9 months. Great perspective. Thanks.

    • Appreciation is what it’s all about. I have travelled to other countries that aren’t as rich in clean water out of the tap as we are here in Canada. Every time, when I come home, I appreciate that more and more.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

