Unconventional meaningful Christmases

A few days before Christmas my world-travelling author friend Anthony sent me a holiday greeting, and he shared a memory of his favourite Christmas.

In the Sahara desert, central Mauritania, in the early 1970s, he and a collection of about fifteen Anglicans, Catholics, Jews and Muslims built a log fire in the shape of a Christmas tree. Their camel herd snuffled and snorted in the darkness around them. In the early hours of Christmas Day, they held hands and sang carols.

In my mind’s eye, I pictured the flames and the desert sand. In my mind’s nose, I smelled the woodsmoke and the camels. In my mind’s ear, I heard the haunting echo of Christmas carols in the Sahara air.

His favourite Christmas was unconventional to be sure, and all the more meaningful for it. 

This year Sainsbury’s ad tells the extraordinary story of the Christmas truce of 1914 in the trenches of war. An unconventional Christmas moment of common humanity shared, and all the more meaningful for it.

My favourite Christmas happened twenty years ago. I spent that one in hospital with our newborn daughter. By the light of a small, artificial tree and to the sound of carols played on a portable cassette player, my husband, my day-old daughter and I shared an unconventional Christmas, that was all the more meaningful for it.

Happy holidays to you all, conventional or otherwise.  

_________

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on December 26, 2014, in Arlene Smith, Arlene Somerton Smith, Christmas stories, good faith, Gratitude, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Hi Arlene,

    I wanted to take a moment to thank you for your blog. You inspire me and so often make me think of things in different ways. I always look forward to your next one so please keep them coming!

  2. Thanks so much for the words of support. I really appreciate it, and I’ll keep on flowing until the well runs dry.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

