What if this were your last morning?

My Dad in the 1930s

My Dad in the 1930s

Fourteen years ago yesterday my father awoke early, as usual.

He ate breakfast—Shredded Wheat, probably—and left the house to take his new car in for rust-proofing. He dropped the car at the auto shop and wandered over to a nearby mall to pass the time. He ordered a coffee and sat at one of the food court tables.

Some friends of ours walked the mall for fitness. On their first lap they waved a hand of greeting to my Dad. On their second lap, he was dead. Gone instantly from a heart attack.

When my father arose from his bed that morning, did he know? When he poured the milk to soften his Shredded Wheat, did he have an inkling? Did he allow himself some sugar as a treat for a diabetic in his final hours? What were his thoughts as he drove the twenty minutes to the auto shop? Was he savouring his life with gratitude? Or was he stewing over some unimportant detail?

Did he do something special? Or did he think it was just another day?

I’ll never know the answers to those questions, but his sudden death reminds me to savour every morning. Smile. Appreciate the view.

I try not to stew over unimportant details, because you never know, and I would hate those to be my last thoughts.

What if this were your last morning?

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on December 3, 2013, in Gratitude, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest. Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I often live like every day is my last day. Or when I’m feeling down or very upset, I ask myself if that would be my last moment, would it be worthy my thoughts, my feelings and my moods? And sometimes it’s a yes but sometimes it’s a no, this is where asking the question helps 🙂
    xox

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

