An inadvertent 30-hour famine

I had a colonoscopy yesterday. (Not prompted by a health issue, thank goodness. Just one of those routine 50+ events.) Everyone told me, “The procedure is no big deal; it’s the preparation that’s unpleasant.” And so it was.

Most people dislike the “cleanse” that precedes a colonoscopy, but for me the fasting was the worst.

I enjoy breakfast. I eat something as soon as I get out of bed every morning. I get very grumpy when I don’t eat first thing. I get grumpy as a grizzly bear after hibernation if I don’t eat all day. (Let me tell you, my family gave me a wide berth on Wednesday.)

Besides being rather . . . testy, I accomplished little over the past couple of days. Without food I had no energy. Without food I couldn’t think straight. I did a lot of lying around watching bad daytime television.

Last night, after the procedure was over, I sat down to dinner with my family. Hurray! Food! But my stomach was still in recovery mode, so it made a lot of interesting noises. My 16-year-old son found this highly amusing. I said, “Well, my stomach’s been empty for a day and a half. Can you imagine if your stomach was empty for that long?”

Then I realized he could. Both of my children have participated several times in the 30-hour famine for World Vision. To create empathy for hungry children in other parts of the world, well-fed teenagers go with nothing but water or juice and one bowl of rice for 30 hours.

I realized that I had completed an inadvertent 30-hour famine, so I began to think about hungry people around the world and how difficult it is for them to break the cycle of their circumstances. How can they take action to improve their lives when they have no energy? How can they make things better when they can’t think straight?

My own short-lived period of fasting plunked me into a place of empathy for those who don’t have enough to eat day after day after day. We need to create long-term solutions to their problems, for sure, but first we need to give them the energy to think straight.

________________________________

CARE Canada is one of my favourite hunger-fighting charities. If you give to them, they receive your donation with gratitude, but they don’t put you on a mailing list that sends an endless stream of solicitations for more.

Current CARE Logo

Current CARE Logo (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on October 25, 2013, in good faith, Gratitude, Inspiration, outreach and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

