Delicious autumn

maple-leaf“Delicious autumn! My very soul is wedded to it, and if I were a bird I would fly about the earth seeking the successive autumns.”
—George Eliot

In my experience, people fit into two categories: those who love September with its cooler autumn temperatures, and those who arrive at this change of season against their will, bucking and straining against the winter ahead. Earlier this month, Derek Abma bemoaned the arrival of September in an Ottawa Citizen op-ed piece: “Wake me up when September ends.”  My goodness, he needed a “good cheer” injection.

I fall into the first category. September is my favourite month of the year. I get more things done in September, October and November than I do the rest of the year combined. I feel a surge of energy. I tackle new projects, and I look at the old ones with renewed interest. I feel like I can do anything.

I marvel at Ottawa friends who thrive in the high heat and humidity of our summer. I wonder how they function on those drippy sweat days of sauna summer. That kind of weather saps every scintilla of motivation and spark of interest from my being. I sloth the summer away.

And then September rolls around. Kapow! Energies renewed.

When I saw the George Eliot quote on the weekend, I knew that Eliot and I would be autumn soul mates—our souls wedded with those of all others who savour delicious autumn.

_______________________

If you don’t agree with me, read Derek Abma’s piece. He’s probably your soul mate: http://www.ottawacitizen.com/opinion/op-ed/Wake+when+September+ends/8879825/story.html

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on September 24, 2013, in Environment, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest, nature, Poetry, quote and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 7 Comments.

  1. I like autumn, its colours and smells and all the autumn sights and activities, but the thought of winter coming closer… and days getting shorter… definitely not a fan of that.

    • I certainly understand that. I like winter, too, so it doesn’t worry me so much. I’m not a fan of extreme cold (- 20 or so) but I absolutely love a sunny February day of -5 to -10 degrees, with the sun glinting of the snow . . . beautiful. I find the secret to enjoying winter is wearing high quality clothing and staying active. No jeans and short jackets! That’s just not smart!

      • True. I like layers, and we don’t often get temperatures as far down as -20, luckily. And you’re right about the sun on snow! But daylight fading at four in the afternoon and grey, rainy days… *sigh* We had three months solid grey skies this winter, no sunlight at all – I’m not keen to repeat the experience. 🙂

      • … but this September is wonderful! I was outside all afternoon and it was really warm, but not so warm that you wanted to be in the shade and the smell! Apples and smoke and wet leaves and late roses – that’s truly beautiful.

  2. I’m like you, Arlene. I love fall! … best season of them all !

  3. I share your view.

    During my three weeks in India last year, where every day was a sauna, I felt like the life was being sucked out of me. I plodded along like a pachyderm. India is rife with them and they never get out of first gear – now you know why.

Leave a Reply

Alex on Faith

Growing in faith together!

byluis7

« me arrodillo por las noches ante tigres que no me dejarán ser. »

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Moral Fibre

Musings of She who Knits in Churches

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.😎🍓🍍🍇🍑🍐🍉🍈🍏🍊🍋🍅🍎🍌🍠🍢🍥

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

