The Year of the Snake: Heebie jeebie horoscope

with-anaconda2

My daughter with an anaconda. Why?

Thank you, Chinese horoscope, for raising my heebie jeebie level for the year.

 I don’t like snakes.

I attribute my aversion to snakes to biology. Our biological defensive systems kick into gear when something in our environment darts at us quickly, like snakes do when attacking. Nature programs us to avoid creatures that could kill us, like these snakes, for example. http://natgeotv.com/uk/worlds-deadliest-snakes

I don’t fight this biological reflex. I submit to it. Why go near snakes? They belong in the environment over there, eating mice, or whatever. I don’t need to touch them. Snakes don’t want me to touch them, and I’m happy to respect their wishes. A visit to the snake dens in Manitoba is not on my vacation list.

And now, Chinese horoscope, you bring me the Year of the Snake. You bring me a whole year of slithering, sliding contemplation. You bring me a whole year of  skin-crawling heebie jeebies.

Oh, I know snakes have redeeming qualities. National Geographic even courteously outlined the parallels between the virtues described in horoscope predictions and real snakes. http://news.nationalgeographic.com/news/2013/13/1302010-chinese-lunar-new-year-culture-snake-science-animals/

I thank snakes for keeping mouse and slug populations in balance, as long as the snakes perform those duties over there. I admire their striking appearance, as long as I view it over there. I appreciate their caution and hunting efficiency, as long as I can appreciate it while snakes are over there.

So, dear Chinese horoscope, I will live this year at arm’s length. The Year of the Snake will be over there, and I will be over here, writing away and waiting for the Year of the Horse.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on February 12, 2013, in Inspiration, Living life to the fullest and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Well written as usual, Arlene… Thanks for the morning giggle!

  2. 🙂 Aren’t snakes symbols of wisdom in many cultures?

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

