Girls, tell me how much you weigh

Just kidding. I wouldn’t do that to you. But really, why is it such a big deal?

This week I had to register my son in a sporting activity. The form included a line for “Weight.” I called out to my son as he walked by my office, “Step on the scales, would you, and tell me what you weigh.” He walked right to the scales and told me his weight. No hesitating. No hedging. No chopping off five, or ten, or twenty pounds to make it sound better.

Why can’t women do that? Why do we all continue to buy into the notion that a number defines us?

On one episode of The Big Bang Theory, Penny reacts negatively to the suggestion that she might weigh an almighty 110 pounds. 110? 110?! I think I was 10 years old the last time I weighed 110 pounds. Kaley Cuoco, who plays Penny, is 5′ 7″ tall.

This is a picture of me on my wedding day.

Looking pretty good, huh? I was a competitive swimmer. I could swim for miles and miles, and I had excellent muscle tone. I looked all right in a bikini, if I say so myself. When I got married—at the time of that picture—I weighed 145 pounds. (If you had asked me then, I would have said 130 or 135.) I am 5′ 5 1/2″ tall. Can you imagine if I had weighed 35 pounds less—the much vaunted 110 pounds? I would have looked, and probably felt, awful.

Why do women believe that 100, or 110, or 125 are magic pound numbers and anything higher makes them fat?

These days, 23 years and two kids later, I’m proud to say that I weigh . . ..

No, sorry. I can’t do it. Let’s just say, I wouldn’t fit into that wedding dress anymore.

It’s too late for me. The harmful lessons are too deeply entrenched. Maybe we can work on the next generation of women so that my granddaughters, or great-granddaughters can hop on a scale and call out the number without hesitating.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on November 6, 2012, in good faith, How do you define success?, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. I too am 5’5″ tall and remember weighing 145 pounds and thought I was the size of a house. I’d be grateful to be 35 pounds MORE than that now. Strange how our perspective changes.

    • Yep. For some reason, when I was in my teens and 20s, I had 125 pounds in my head as the weight that EVERY woman should weigh. When I could never achieve that goal, I was certain that I was appallingly fat. Looking back now, though . . .

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

