How do I deal with a friend’s death?

My dear friend, Lynn, died on Sunday at the age of 47.

For the second time in a few short years I have lost a friend in their mid-forties to cancer. For the second time in a few short years my children face the double whammy of mourning the loss of someone who was like an aunt or uncle to them plus watching their close friends—teenagers or younger—deal with the loss of a parent.

My ancient reptilian brain responds first.

I rage against the injustice. “It’s not fair!” my lizard brain cries. Irrationally I tell myself that Billy Joel was right: only the good die young while the bastards live on and on and on . . .. Grief accompanies me through the day and shows itself in waves of teary eyes.

I allow myself the anger and the grief. I even enjoy them a little. Then I choose to do better.

I have other resources available. My frontal lobe allows me to choose to cherish the gifts that Lynn’s cancer journey brought to us. A life lived with a terminal diagnosis is life lived. Savoured. A terminal diagnosis cuts through bullshit: no pretenses or platitudes allowed. When the prospect of death is close and real instead of distant and nebulous, life’s priorities rearrange themselves.  It means choosing to spend time with the people who love and respect you, and choosing not to spend time with those who don’t.  It means telling people you love them unashamedly and often. It means deep, warm hugs.

“Some people walk in the rain, others just get wet.” —Roger Miller

Lynn balanced her awareness of her diagnosis with unrelenting hope for a miracle. She felt the anger and frustration from her lizard brain, but she mindfully sought the positive in every challenge. With determination and grace she seized her days.

I will keep Lynn close to me.

Like my friend Barry with his light, she will make her presence known to me somehow in a way that is unique to her. I will wait to see what form that takes. In the meantime, I will deal with her death the way that she lived: with grace. It is impossible to say it any better than Maya Angelou does:

Did I learn to be kinder,
to be more patient,
and more generous,
more loving,
more ready to laugh,
and more easy to accept honest tears?

If I accept those legacies of my departed beloveds, I am able to
say Thank You to them for their love and Thank You to
God for their lives

—Maya Angelou from Letter to My Daughter

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on March 20, 2012, in good faith, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest, science, spirit and tagged , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 13 Comments.

  1. Lynn was a true friend and a wonderful mother, daughter and wife. The word “grace” is an insightful description of Lynn — she lived life to the fullest and kept a positive outlook that amazed many of us. She is dearly missed and will always be in our hearts.

  2. I am sorry for your loss. Sounds like a wonderful person.

  3. Arlene, I only met Lynn couple of times, but remember her genuine smile and how welcoming she was. I am very sorry to hear of her passing. I know she will be remembered by all whose lives she touched, no matter how briefly. My deepest condolences to you and to her family.

  4. I’m so sorry for the loss of your friend, Arlene.

  5. So sorry to hear about Lynn. I had fun with her. She was a great Mom and so much fun.

  6. Dear Arlene,
    Lynn was a genuine person who could make things sunny on a rainy day. She blessed those who knew her with her ability to be in the moment. Grace is a wonderful way to describe her. So sorry for her leaving so soon. Will keep her , her family, and dear friends in my prayers. Take care.

  7. Hello Scienceandstory,
    Losing a close friend to death can certainly be a very emotional time. Often a friend can be even closer than some family members of the deceased. When you lose a friend to death, you will most certainly go through a mourning or grieving process. The degree will depend on how close your friendship was and of course, the closer your friendship, the longer the grieving period.
    Regards

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

