Canadian water: our national treasure

(I dedicate this post to Bob Cowin, water aficionado.)

When I was 17, I spent six months as an exchange student in Mexico. It was my first experience with water management.

At that time, stand-alone water coolers in Canadian kitchens were unheard of. Bottled water had not yet hit store shelves, and we would have laughed at it anyway. Why would you pay for water?

So arriving in a country where tap water would make you sick was a culture shock. I spent six months brushing my teeth carefully, wiping the rims of pop bottles to remove any residue, and marvelling at the water cooler in the kitchen. The one time I did make the bleary-eyed mistake of drinking tap water on a middle of the night trip to the bathroom, the results were unfortunate.

One of the first things I did when I got back to Canada was turn on a tap and luxuriate.

I let the water play over my fingers and I took a good, long, cold drink. What decadence. What a gift.

My memories of that moment are the reason I’ve never jumped on the bottled water bandwagon. First, why would I want to pay for water? Second, how could I live with putting all those empty water bottles into our world? What a waste. But especially, why would I want to thumb my nose at one of our country’s greatest treasures?

As my plane flew over South America on my way here two days ago, I looked down on the undulating rivers below. The water did not shine back bright blue like our Canadian lakes and rivers would. The water runs brown, the colour of strong coffee with cream. South Americans have water, yes, but it has to be managed carefully. They don’t have the luxury of carefree water consumption.

We do.

No matter where you are right now—your home, your office, or even the most dreaded of unsanitary places, a gas station bathroom—go to a sink, turn on the water and take a moment to worship it. And I don’t use the word worship lightly. Worship it. Savour it. Water is our life, and Canada has the good stuff in spades. Let it play over your fingers. Take a big long drink. Do it for me.

Because you can.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on January 29, 2012, in Gratitude, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Dear Arlene,
    There are many gifts in life. Water is one of them. I will say a prayer of thanks when I use it this week .It will have a positive thought to send your way as you help to give the gift of shelter to others.
    Take good care.
    Karen

  2. Hi Arlene

    I was just checking my emails before a relaxing soak in the tub with my book before bed. This luxury is unimaginable in distressed countries where water is very precious. Thank you for the reminder that clean, plentiful water is a great blessing. I shall pay appropriate respect while enjoying my watery bliss.

    Have fun on your great adventure.

    Jennifer

  3. Great post, you have pointed out some wonderful details , I like wise believe this is a very super website.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

