Keep your eyes forward

I am leaving for Bolivia in two days. I will be part of a Habitat for Humanity Global Village trip, and I will be building a house with a Bolivian family.

When I planned this trip months ago I did so with few concerns or worries, but this past week, I have found myself dreaming up every possible “What if” nightmare scenario. As the trip approaches I have been very creative in coming up with worries about every possible thing (maybe even some impossible ones) that could go wrong. I focused on the worries, and not on the goal or my reasons for doing the trip in the first place.

So it was with perfect timing that I came across this piece by artboy68 (who created the sketch in my previous post). On January 1, 2012 he posted the following as a kick-off to the new year. It was the reminder I needed to keep my eyes forward.

Keep your eyes forward

© Scott Hamilton, artboy68

1991:  After spending a long day travelling over unbelievably rough roads and seeing wild Karabair horses running free on the northern Uzbek steppe, I found myself in a strange world walking with a strange man who speaks no English toward the shore of Lake Aldar-Kul, nestled between Kazakhstan and Uzbekistan.  The lake proved to be only waist deep, covered with reeds as far as the eye can see, but produced fish for this camp as large as sharks.

The man’s name was affectionately coined as Kutchkar, which we were told means goat, and his eyes were as kind as his soul, which made it uncommonly easy to communicate even though we shared no common language. He was taking me to share a tradition that was as refreshing in body as it was in the fellowship that resulted:  a mudbath on the shore of the lake, followed by some time in the steam hut, after which a self-inflicted flogging with stinging nettles across the back ensued.  ”For good circulation,” was the implied reasoning.

Seeing me looking down and struggling to walk along the gravel road in my bare feet, Kutchkar touched my arm and pointed to his eyes, then to the horizon ahead.  I understood:  don’t look down.  I straightened up, put my eyes forward and began to walk with confidence.

As unimportant as this little exchange would seem, it has become one of the most memorable moments for me of my time in that place.  Why?  Because that lesson becomes more significant to me as each year passes:  to look straight ahead, and keep your eyes on the destination.  It’s a philosophy I am repeating more and more these days- not to go around the mulberry bush, but go through it.  If you have a specific goal, take the most direct path to it, not wavering to the left or to the right.

Distractions abound; once in a while a potential opportunity might feel golden, only to realize upon closer examination that it’s simply a rabbit trail- a deviation from the ultimate goal or an investment with minimal or no return that will only prolong the journey.  These are moments to consult the map and make sure you’re on the right road.  Not to say that we shouldn’t enjoy the surprises that life can bring;  success in life should certainly include a sense of adventure.  Compromise in the right places, and keep your compass with you.

When setting goals, like so many of us do with each renewal of the passing years, keep it simple.  And remember that nothing is achievable without sacrifice.  I have specific goals for this year, and I know that I won’t reach them without discipline and dedication.  It will take time from other things, and I know there will be times that I will just have to push through doubt, disappointments and multiple failures.  To fail to try is the only sure-fire way to not find your destination.

So when the distractions come, and they will, be firm in your walk.  Don’t stray from the map.  The key is in keeping your eyes forward;  like walking in your bare feet.

© artboy68

http://artboy68.wordpress.com/2012/01/01/keep-your-eyes-forward/

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on January 24, 2012, in Art, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest, outreach and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Can hardy wait to hear about your experience. It is on my bucket list to do.

    • You are one of the people who inspired me to do a trip like this. I loved hearing about your time in Africa. We’ll have lots to talk about in the summer.

  2. Travel gently, my friend. Can’t wait to read your reflections. G

    • Thank you. I feel much calmer knowing that I have you pulling for me, too. I am travelling with my laptop and I plan to do some updates, providing I’m not falling asleep in my soup every night.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

