A real All Souls’ Day

By the end of Wednesday─All Souls’ Day─I was left scratching my head at how determinedly the souls of my past brought themselves to my attention over the course of the day.

First, Wednesday would have been the 54th birthday of my brother who passed away in April, so my waking thoughts were of him and how he would be forever stalled at 53.

Then I sat down in my office to begin my writing day. But my desk had become an out-of-control cluttered mess, and I decided that I just couldn’t stand it any longer.  I started to dig through the piles. As I made my way down through the old receipts, work assignments and scribbled phone numbers, I came across my brother’s obituary clipped from the newspaper. I smiled when I saw his face.

Not much farther down the paper clutter pile, I found the In Memoriam card for my mother-in-law. Looking at her smiling face, I remembered her fondly.

As I cleared more and more of my desk, it became apparent that I hadn’t dusted in my office for quite a while. I got out my dustcloth and tackled the desk and then the shelves, which had pictures of my father, my grandfather, and my father’s birth mother.

Huh, I thought. This was really shaping up to be an All Souls’ Day.

Then my daughter came home from school and began work on her Sociology project. Our family tree. We spent the evening filtering through documents and pictures of aunts, uncles, cousins, in-laws, grandparents, great-grandparents, great-greats, and beyond from both sides of the family.

When I woke up Wednesday morning and looked at my calendar, I noted that it was All Souls’ Day with quaint interest. But the veil was very thin around my house on Wednesday, and by the end of the day it felt a little eerie.

Next year, I’ll be sure to give those determined souls of my past more than just a passing nod.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on November 4, 2011, in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Sounds like an awesome and transformational experience!

    • It was one of those things that, while I was living it, didn’t seem all that extraordinary. It was when I reflected back on it that I reallized it was something special. Sometimes life’s like that.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

