Replace empty minds with open ones

Education’s purpose is to replace an empty mind with an open one. —Malcolm S. Forbes

A teacher friend forwarded this quote to me last week. Today she begins another year of opening children’s minds.

I like the twist of this quote, because it reflects more accurately the value of education. Traditionally, we might envision our students’ heads being filled—overstuffed with facts and figures and excess formulas that flow out their ears. But really, education pries open our students’ heads to prepare them to receive and process information, and  it gives them the tools and the drive to keep learning more and more.

When I look back on my school years, I know that I have forgotten most of the facts and formulas that I once knew. I used to be able to name all the countries of the world and their capitals. I can’t do that now. In fact, I’m pressed to find some of them on a map. But I did learn how to learn, and I developed an enthusiasm for knowledge.

Knowledge breeds compassion, and as we inch up to September 11 commemorative ceremonies, our world needs that.

Today my children will head off to high school. I prefer to imagine their minds being pried open to receive and process all the amazing information out there than to picture their poor little heads aching under the pressure of too many seldom used and little understood formulas.

Doonesbury says it best, as always: http://www.doonesbury.com/strip/archive/2011/07/10

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on September 6, 2011, in Fundamentalism, Inspiration, religion, science and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Alex on Faith

Growing in faith together!

byluis7

« me arrodillo por las noches ante tigres que no me dejarán ser. »

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Moral Fibre

Musings of She who Knits in Churches

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.😎🍓🍍🍇🍑🍐🍉🍈🍏🍊🍋🍅🍎🍌🍠🍢🍥

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

