Too much of a good thing

I have danced in the rain once or twice, when it fell in the sizzling heat of a summer day and cooled the steaming pavement beneath my bare feet. I have celebrated the rain many times, when it fell on the crevasses of parched loamy soil and quenched the thirst of drooping Beefsteak tomato plants. I have marvelled at the rain from time to time, when powerful downpours carved deep canyons out of creek beds or moved giant rocks like they were pebbles.

But, I’m finding hard to celebrate the rain now.

It feels like a little too much of a good thing, and I’m looking for a bit of sun to balance things out. But it doesn’t look like I’m going to get my wish. The long-term forecast shows wet and bleak.

It makes me think, though, wouldn’t it be nice if everything always did balance perfectly?

Imagine if the perfect amount of rain fell on the perfect number of days. And then the sun shone just right for the perfect, predictable amount of time. No more flooded farmers’ fields. No more sandbagging swollen river banks. No more homes and lives destroyed by rising waters. No more rainy wedding days, for we would be able to plan around them. And no more being caught without an umbrella by an unexpected deluge. No more drought on the prairies or undernourished apple orchards.

Wouldn’t that be nice? The seeker-of-balance that I am, I always like things to come out evenly.

But, alas, it isn’t so. I must content myself with acceptance. Maybe I can’t celebrate a rainy day now, but I can try my best to look out on the rainy day and remember that rain is a good thing, even if I think there is too much of it. And when I walk my dog, rather than take my umbrella, maybe I can get wet right along with her and toss back my head and drink the drops as they fall. And when I come back and take a hot shower to warm up, I can remember that a shower, too, is water falling on me, and it is a good thing.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on May 17, 2011, in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Arlene,thank you for putting a postive spin on the weather. instead of giving into the bleak feelings that have been threating my wellbeing, I will follow your example and embrace the rain and see the positives of it.

    • Yesterday a friend told me that he was reading a book written by a cancer survivor. The cancer survivor said that he didn’t allow himself to feel like he “had” to do things, like wait in line at a grocery store, or do his taxes. He said he “gets” to do those things. So, I’m trying to be positive, too. I get to walk to work in the rain today. Hurray!

Leave a Reply

Alex on Faith

Growing in faith together!

byluis7

« me arrodillo por las noches ante tigres que no me dejarán ser. »

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Moral Fibre

Musings of She who Knits in Churches

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.😎🍓🍍🍇🍑🍐🍉🍈🍏🍊🍋🍅🍎🍌🍠🍢🍥

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

