Think calm, curious and appreciative – Jazzthink

Do you believe that people, or thoughts, or books or moments of encouragement come to us when we need them?

I do.

I’ve been a little busy lately. I’ve added full-time work to my schedule, and I am still learning how to balance that extra commitment with an already full life. Some days I feel the strain.

Two days ago, a friend from British Columbia forwarded this short passage to me. I opened his message after I had arrived home from work and was facing an evening of dinner preparations and family duties and homework and lapsed volunteer work.  The words from Jazzthink were exactly what I needed, exactly when I needed them:

If you learn how to enter any situation, no matter how emotionally wrought or high-strung, being calm in your deepest being/soul, confident in your greatest strengths that reside there, then only those strengths have the power to determine the positive impact of your presence.

If you learn to enter any situation, no matter how confused or conflicted, being curious about the positive potential that can be found with others, then you will invite them into an authentic and clear alliance for achieving what will serve your common purpose best.

If you learn to enter any situation, no matter how negative or toxic, being appreciative of the strengths and capacities of others to collaborate constructively, then you will create the space for surprising and innovative things to happen in the conversations that generate that quality of teamwork.

To show up this way takes practice — a lot of practice. But the sound you will create, the vibe you will generate, the groove you will establish by being calm, curious, and appreciative will be a blessing to all around you. And the gift you are meant to be for others on your team will be more than you ever imagined.

Reading those words I could almost feel the improvisational coolness of jazz filter through me. The vibe of the words generated a calm, curious appreciation for my evening ahead. It recalibrated my thoughts on my family, my co-workers and the members of my volunteer “teams” who are waiting patiently for me to catch up with my work.

Jazzthink is all about teamwork. They encourage SMART conversations based on the innovative wisdom of jazz as a way to build strong, sustainable teams.

If all the many “teams” that I’m on had members swinging to the same calm, curious, appreciative beat, I marvel at how productive we would be. I think I’ll try to generate a little of that vibe myself.

I’ll think calm, curious and appreciative. I’ll Jazzthink.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on April 15, 2011, in Inspiration and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Alex on Faith

Growing in faith together!

byluis7

« me arrodillo por las noches ante tigres que no me dejarán ser. »

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Moral Fibre

Musings of She who Knits in Churches

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.😎🍓🍍🍇🍑🍐🍉🍈🍏🍊🍋🍅🍎🍌🍠🍢🍥

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

