First day

Rainbow

Most people make resolutions on New Year’s Day. To me, that always feels like the middle of things, rather than the beginning. For me, September is the time for fresh starts. When I was a student, the school year started in September, and when I was a television and video producer the new season started in September. Heading into the autumn bursting with new ideas and projects has been a life-long pattern for me. The cooler air revives me and limitless possibilities lie before me.

My children head off to school this morning ready to fulfill their goals for the year. It makes me ponder my own goals.

Sometimes goals or resolutions revolve around the material things in life: losing weight, getting fit, or finally cleaning out that messy basement. Being a writer I spend a lot of time with people who have “publishing a book” on their list of goals. But I recently read a quote by Maya Angelou in Letter to My Daughter that made me rethink goals. Upon attending the funeral of a dear friend she asked herself: “What legacy was left which can help me in the art of living a good life?”

She then wrote:

Did I learn to be kinder,

To be more patient,

And more generous,

More loving,

More ready to laugh,

And more easy to accept honest tears?

Heading into this new school year, this new season, consider those my new year’s resolutions.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on September 7, 2010, in good faith, story, writing and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

Becoming...

"Every day is a great day to make a joyful noise!"

simple Ula

I want to be rich. Rich in love, rich in health, rich in laughter, rich in adventure and rich in knowledge. You?

Bliss B4 Laundry

Inspirational Events for Mind, Body & Soul + Ontario's Best Wellness Weekends for Women

SarveshG

Spread love before hate conquers.

Kone, Krusos, Kronos

A personal forum to express ideas, experiences, stories, etc.

deepakdheer

Just another WordPress.com site

matter of life and death

- perceptions from a widow's perspective

