I believe in dog

Last week I wrote a post with the word God in the title. The stats page with my blog software showed that fewer people than usual took time to read that post. Later in the week I wrote about my dog. Readership went through the roof, or should I say woof.

Clearly people are much more interested in Dog than God.

I understand this. What my dog is, really, is a packet of unconditional love. Who wouldn’t want to live every day with a packet of unconditional love? She adores me, no matter what. She doesn’t care about my few extra pounds, my messy desk, or that I hate dusting. It’s very good for my ego to have that unconditional adoration around.

When people click on a post about Dog, they anticipate a feel-good story. Interesting that some people don’t click on a post about God. I assume it’s because they don’t anticipate a feel-good story.

Maybe, just maybe, religion has a lesson to learn from Dog

Unconditional love receives more “Like” clicks than judgment.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on August 24, 2010, in Belief, good faith, religion, spirit and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. When I was in journalism school I was taught that news stories about dogs always get more feedback than stories about people. I’ve always found that interesting. Maybe it’s because dogs love us innocently, unconditionally, without reserve?

    • That could be it, Andrea. It is interesting how newspaper stories about animals in peril end up on the front page and can often run for days. Meanwhile, there are so many people in peril that readers just don’t want to know about. I’d always thought that it was because readers wonder if the people in trouble have done something to “bring it on themselves.” But maybe it has more to do with unconditional love.

Leave a Reply

Alex on Faith

Growing in faith together!

byluis7

« me arrodillo por las noches ante tigres que no me dejarán ser. »

La Audacia de Aquiles

"El Mundo Visible es Sólo un Pretexto" / "The Visible World is Just a Pretext".-

Moral Fibre

Musings of She who Knits in Churches

cocinaitaly

comida italiana

HEALTHY LIFESTYLE

I CAN'T CONTROL EVERYTHING IN MY LIFE, BUT I CAN CONTROL WHAT I PUT IN MY BODY.😎🍓🍍🍇🍑🍐🍉🍈🍏🍊🍋🍅🍎🍌🍠🍢🍥

The Godly Chic Diaries

Smiling • Writing • Dreaming

Yellingrosa's Weblog

Poetry, Visual Arts, Music and IT Tech

wordsthatserve

Breathe, read...smile

simplisticInsights

Simple made easy! psychology love feeling emotion thought behaviour success strategy

Diary Of A Growing Black Man

Personal website sharing life experiences and vision

Jay Colby

Life, Inspiration & Motivation

Health Sources

Health , Beauty and Food

A Little Blog of Books

Book reviews and other literary-related musings

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Mill Street Books

Almonte's bookstore carries books, music, family games, gifts and more.

