What is your true purpose?

Have you really led the full life as an example that you would want others to lead?

Has your love, support and friendship made a difference to others?

Are you good with how you will be remembered?

According to Paul Copcutt, those are the questions we should really be asking ourselves.

A few years ago I attended a workshop on “Personal Branding” at a Canadian Authors Association conference. I was so engaged by the insights and the authenticity of the workshop leader, Paul Copcutt, that I signed up for his e-newsletter. I have received useful advice from him over the years about networking, branding and achieving goals. A little over a year ago, I became one of the people who shared distantly in the story of his cancer journey.

Last week, he published an article entitled “Why cancer is an integral part of my personal brand.”

He found that when lives take an unexpected sharp turn as a result of cancer, people ask themselves the three questions above. When people asking those questions don’t like the answers they come up with, they know they have to make some changes.

Might be not a bad idea to ask those questions now instead of later, right?

As Paul says, if you are feeling unfulfilled, unsure, underappreciated, undervalued, even underwater, it might be a good idea to give your life a sharp turn that you direct for yourself.

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on April 24, 2012, in How do you define success?, Inspiration, Living life to the fullest and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Thanks Arlene for sharing. I lost sight for a while last year of some of that insight and authenticity, but it’s back. You are absolutely right and in my presentations now I urge people to ask themselves those three questions – NOW!. Just my toonies worth. Take care.

  2. “Have you really led the full life as an example that you would want others to lead?”. Hm… Given the fact that my life is just a “shitty first draft” :-) I wouldn’t suggest to anyone that I’m an example to lead! :lol: (although I am, some say, sometimes). This being said, I have lived my life wholeheartedly, with endless imperfection, and at this point (age 56) no regrets.

    I have experienced again and again, that what others appreciate about us are things we take for granted or find so natural that we hardly notice. My guess is that I will be remembered for that kind of things – and that’s OK. I appreciate being remembered. For what exactly is not all that important to me. :-)

    • You are absolutely right that “others appreciate about us are things we take for granted or find so natural that we hardly notice” – I find this often in working with clients about their strengths and unique skills. It’s nice when they are noticed and appreciated :-) – Just my toonies worth

    • I imagine we would all be surprised by the things that people remember us for. We can hope that they remember the good stuff, and maybe overlook the not so good? All those “shitty first drafts”? Here’s hoping.

Leave a Reply

Ottawa Writes

A Connection For Ottawa Writers

Tuesdays with Laurie

"Whatever you are not changing, you are choosing." — Laurie Buchanan

The Savvy Reader

Looking for Savvy Readers to talk books with!

Quillfyre

Aspiring to poet

jmgoyder

wings and things

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Waiting for the Karma Truck

thoughts on the spaces in between

Peak Perspective

Trying to climb out of the fog.

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Recipes for Creativity, Soul Growth, Writing and Life...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

CanWrite! Conference

Writers helping writers since 1921

TurtleHead

Only Occasionally Talking About Poop

Welcome to our MindMedicine blog!

Helping people to awaken into the fullness of who we really are- in love and peace...

Reverend Erin

Thoughts on Ministry from a First-Time Minister

Fly With Nate

Create A Tailor-Made Lifestyle

Our Camino

October 2013

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 564 other followers

