Sunshine sketches

“An artist is someone who makes art.” —David Charles Hamilton

This sketch of my profile picture was prepared by artboy68, a.k.a. Scott Hamilton.

A few months ago he took on the task of creating 100 portraits of people’s profile pictures in 20 weeks. I am number 71, so there are 70 other examples of his sketches available to see at http://artboy68project.wordpress.com/And check out his painting Torso in 2 Colours. Simply stunning.

 I signed up to receive his posts by email, and I am always intrigued to see the people who come into my Inbox from him. Each person has something on their site that makes me say, “Huh. That’s interesting.”

artboy68 attracts intriguing people.

I get a lot of comments on my profile picture. Traditionalists think I should have a regular “head shot.” A straight-on, by-the-book portrait. People with trust issues think I should have a picture without sunglasses. “I don’t trust people if I can’t see their eyes,” they say.

But I’m not changing my picture for traditionalists with trust issues. First, I just love the picture, and I think it says everything you need to know about me. My husband took the photo. I am looking over my shoulder, smiling and happy. That the picture is taken by someone I love just comes through. And I’m sitting in a baseball diamond in the sunshine holding my dog.

This photo says, “I am loved, I love sports, I love sunshine, and I love dogs.” What else would you need to know?

About Arlene Somerton Smith

Writer, laughing thinker, miner of inspirational insights, sports fan, and community volunteer

Posted on January 20, 2012, in Art, writing and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. It’s a beautiful drawing. Glad you haven’t caved. :)

  2. I absolutely love the photo and it’s a perfect profile picture for you!

  3. Thanks Arlene, cheers!

Leave a Reply

Storytime with John

pull up and listen...I've got a funny one for ya...

Dream, Play, Write!

Today, make a commitment to your writing.

Charlotte Cuevas, Author

Current writing projects: 52 Flashes of Fiction & The 365 Poetry Project: Year 2

Ottawa Writes

A podcast that dives into the art & business of writing.

The Wild Pomegranate

“Be Wild. That is how you clear the River.” ― Clarissa Pinkola Estés,

Reading Through the BS

a little blog about the books I read - the good and the bad and everything inbetween

bdhesse

A writing WordPress.com site

Tuesdays with Laurie

"Whatever you are not changing, you are choosing." — Laurie Buchanan

The Savvy Reader

Looking for Savvy Readers to talk books with!

Quillfyre

Aspiring to poet

jmgoyder

wings and things

The Byronic Man

We can rebuild him. We have the technology... Drier. Hilariouser. More satirical than before.

sethsnap

Photographs from my world.

Waiting for the Karma Truck

thoughts on the spaces in between

Peak Perspective

Trying to climb out of the fog.

janyceresh

If sarcasm and self deprecating humour were an Olympic event I'd definitely qualify.

Cauldrons and Cupcakes

Recipes for Creativity, Soul Growth, Writing and Life...

Listful Thinking

Listless: Lacking zest or vivacity

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 642 other followers

